THR Diaries: 6 months post-op

🧡 I never imagined this milestone would come, it’s something I imagined but never felt like it would actually happen if that makes sense?

🧡 The last 6 months have been incredibly difficult, with a lot of painful growth.

🧡 In terms of recovery, I’ve been walking unaided since around the end of January (I think!). I’ve been seeing a sports therapist roughly every 3 weeks, who has been breaking down my scar tissue and just generally making me feel a lot better. I’m still seeing a physiotherapist, however I start seeing a new physiotherapist next week because my physio changed location.

🧡 I can walk long distances now with no hip pain whatsoever. My lower back still hurts a lot, but my old physio wouldn’t refer me for further investigation until a year post-op (although I don’t think it’s related to my THR).

🧡 I keep having dreams about hip surgeries which is weird, but my recovery is always super quick in these dreams.

🧡 Having my hip replaced encouraged me to make other positive changes to my life, just little things that I always wanted to do but never did.

🧡 I’m looking forward to the rest of the year and genuinely feel like there’s some very good things in store for me!

🧡 Enjoy a few pics from my recent trip to London, and my most recent scar pic!

One response to “THR Diaries: 6 months post-op”

  1. C Rachel Jenkins avatar
    C Rachel Jenkins

    Congratulations!! Sounds like your healing well.. Do you do any stretching for your lower back?

    Like

Leave a comment