8 Month Update and Reminiscing

🦋 I have been reminiscing a lot about the last 8 months. Some days it feels like a dream, other days my hip clunks and I remember that one of the biggest joints in my body is mechanic 😂

My scar at 8 months post-op

🦋 One of the most prominent thoughts that I have while looking back, is that I wasn’t prepared for the pain. I am not writing this to scare anyone, and a lot of people have reported minimal pain. My pain medication was messed up at the hospital, and my pain was severe for about 18 hours, and then still quite bad for a few days.

🦋 I wasn’t prepared for how you can go from having a functioning leg, to being immobile in a matter of hours. I really struggled with this, not just being totally immobile in the hospital, but the few weeks after I came home where I needed help with everything. I remember my mind trying to move my leg, but the leg was just a dead weight attached to my body.

🦋 I am doing incredibly well, thanks to Amytriptaline. It has 90% gotten rid of my lower back pain. I don’t like relying on a pain killer to live my life. One of the main reasons I got my THR in the first place was so that I could come off of pain medication, so every day when I take my Naproxen and Amytriptaline I feel like a failure. So I guess, physically I am doing well; but at the cost of my mental health.

🦋 The scar is looking lovely if I do say so myself! I am going on holiday in 6 weeks, and I am quite nervous about walking around in a swimsuit.

🦋 I am going to the gym 3-4 times per week, and walking over 10,000 steps a day now. I am able to go on longer bike rides, walk for longer distances, squat down to pick up dog poo, put socks on, and tie my shoes! Little things able-bodied people take for granted, but I feel so fortunate to be able to pick up my dog’s poo pain-free.

First time back in heels

COPYRIGHT ©2022, LETS GET HIPPY. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

PRIVACY POLICY | DISCLAIMER POLICY | TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Leave a comment